A Fortunate Life - DVD 2 Disc set

$19.95

In stockAvailability: In stock

Quick Overview

.

Details

At eight years old, an impoverished Bert Facey was forced to start the backbreaking, dawn-to-dusk life of a farm labourer. Unschooled, his father dead, abandoned by his mother, by the age of twenty he had survived the rigours of pioneering the harsh Australian bush and the slaughter of the bloody WWI campaign at Gallipoli. Adapted from A.B. Facey's best-selling autobiographical novel, this is the extraordinary tale of an ordinary Aussie battler, and remains one of the great Australian miniseries. In the tradition of A Town Like Alice and Sara Dane, the complete four chapters of this epic television event finally comes to DVD. Part I: Starting Out (1897-1905) Bert Facey's tormented early years through his father's death and harsh economic depression Part II: Bush Schooling (1905-1908) Bert goes to work for the Phillips, a childless couple who treat him as one of the family Part III: Journey (1908-1914) Reunited with his mother after 12 years, Bert soon moves north to seek work. Part IV: Providence (1914-1916) A champion prize fighter, Bert enlists when WWI breaks out, surviving the nightmare of Gallipoli.

Product Tags

Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.


Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register

FREE SHIPPING

On orders of $100.00 and over, for delivery within Australia. Free Shipping on folded paper maps. Flat rate shipping on most books @ $9.50 up to order value of $99.99

GIFT VOUCHERS

Coming soon...

BOOK OF THE MONTH

 canning

Canning Stock Route - Travellers Guide. Click here.

CUSTOMER CARE

03 5391 1466